Young African Public Health Scholars Programme


Africa CDC instituted an annual scholarship programme that awards scholarships to 10 young African scholars for an 18-month master’s degree study in epidemiology at the University of the Witwatersrand School of Public Health, South Africa. Preference is given to candidates currently working with the NPHI in their respective countries and the purpose is to strengthen public health workforce capacity of African Union Member States. Interested candidates can apply for any of the following courses: epidemiology and biostatistics, field epidemiology, infectious diseases epidemiology, public health informatics, biostatistics, and implementation science. 

The first cohort of eight scholars began their studies in the school in 2018 and the deadline for application is 31 August each year. 

For more information, send your enquiries to: